Stranger Than Fiction

As a child watching from my porch I remember seeing this Women, she was a strange old women, she wore a vinyl grey rain jacket, a box cut below the knee skirt that too was of a grayish tone in color with opaque thick stockings walking in the street along the curb opposite the side of street where my home set carrying an umbrella in the midst of the hot summers heat wearing a plastic rain bonnet over her hair.  This Women would conveniently un-coincedently appear to walk the same manner wearing the same thing carrying the same umbrella, at around the same time of day she didn’t feel to be a hobo she appeared neat and clean from my distant view as I watched her from my porch across the opposite side of my street.  This situation occurred everyday or at least the days were I would be outside to notice her existence.  I could never tell which home she walked out from or if she even lived nearby.  One day on my bike I followed her but could not see exactly were she went it was like she was there at one moment but then I would get distracted and turn to pay attention to something else and then she would be lost from me until I would see her again mid to late afternoon the next days following, this went on for years.  As I look back I wonder if I was the only child to notice her, it was like she was there but no one spoke of her strange behavior or existence.  I wonder what was her purpose, what was mine or maybe she just went for a walk everyday, or maybe…

by Ahyah

Leave a Reply

